JCS Logo

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- The Jefferson County Board of Education (JCBOE) held its organizational meeting Tuesday. Three people took the oath of office to become board members. Laurie Ogden, Kathy Skinner, and Carmen Taylor-Bratton will serve four-year terms on the board. They were the top three vote-getters during the Primary Election in May.

        Ogden and Skinner are both returning to the board after being re-elected. Taylor-Bratton is serving her first term on the board. She said it's an exciting opportunity.
     "I am elated and honored to be starting this journey in the educational profession as so many of my family members did, past and present. I thank my community for trusting in me to work with my fellow board members to continue to make changes where needed and to develop policies."
   The JCBOE voted on officers during the meeting as well. Skinner will continue as Board President. Board member Mark Osbourn was re-elected, Vice-President. Meetings for the coming year will start at 6:00 PM in the auditorium at Washington High School and on Zoom.